Review, Interview & Giveaway : Christmas at Butterfly Cove

Today I’m excited to tell you about a new holiday story called ‘Christmas at Butterfly Cove’ by Sarah Bennett. I’ve also got an exclusive Q&A with the author, and there’s a giveaway for those of you in the UK. Enjoy! ❤

Christmas at Butterfly Cove by Sarah Bennett

My Review:

This was a sweet holiday read that touched upon serious issues and difficult situations that many people experience. Some of the main themes of  the novel were strength, family, love, and support. I’m a big believer in karma and it was nice to see karma come into play towards the end in relation to one character’s foul actions.

The book touched upon real-life issues that people deal with and the importance of having a support system of friends and family that are there for you no matter what, through anything. That always have your back.

I liked that Nee was a creative type and it was heart-wrenching to see her struggle throughout the book to get back where she was, to be the creative, happy, loving woman that she was before the unfortunate incident happened in New York.

The novel brings up an interesting perspective on what some people will do to be successful, even if it means leaving others behind. Ultimately, you have to do what works for you, and sometimes that includes making mistakes. The people that care about you will always be there for you and sometimes that means figuring it out and moving past mistakes together.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

I received a complimentary review copy via the author. All reviews 100% reflect my honest opinion.

About the Book

Title: Christmas at Butterfly Cove

Author: Sarah Bennett

Published: October 6, 2017

Book Blurb:

All she wants for Christmas…

When talented artist Nee Sutherland returns to Butterfly Cove for her sister’s wedding, it’s only a matter of time before she has to face her own bridegroom – Luke Spenser – the man she impulsively married, then left in the middle of the night.

Nee hasn’t picked up her paintbrushes in months, a part of her is broken. She knows Luke might never forgive her, leaving him was the biggest mistake of her life – but could coming home for Christmas be the best decision she’s ever made?

Maybe all she needs is a little Christmas miracle…

A delightfully feel-good festive romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Rachael Lucas and Hilary Boyd.

Book Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Interview with the Author

What do you hope readers will take away from your book?

I hope they will feel like they’ve spent time with a lovely group of characters they wish they knew in real life.

What character do you relate most to and why?

I think there is a little bit of me in each of the three sisters who are the heroines of the series, but my favourite character is Madeline. She’s Mia’s neighbour who loves the girls dearly and isn’t afraid to speak her mind. She sees herself as a Fairy Godmother, although the heroes in the series tend to call her a meddling old bag (said with great affection!)

What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

Working alone! After twenty-plus years of dealing with office politics and working to help other people succeed, it’s refreshing to be the captain of my own ship.

Do you write with a plan or do you write and see where the story takes you?

I am very much a pantser. I have a general outline, usually no more than a single page of A4 which I use to pitch the story to my editor. Once the characters start talking to me, I am always surprised at where they take me.

What are the challenges of writing a series? Did you plan the series out before writing or did the books come together as a series once you’d begun writing the first one?

The project started out as a single book, and I was about a third of the way through it before Mia decided to tell me she had two sisters. Once they cropped up as characters, they were quick to demand their own stories.

What is the best advice anyone has ever given you?

Not everyone will like you and that’s okay.

What are the things you can’t live without in your kitchen? 

My George Foreman grill – I love it and we use it at least four or five times a week.

What are the things you can’t live without in your makeup bag?

I use Laura Geller spackle which goes under your foundation or powder. It forms a matte finish and holds your makeup really well.

What would we find if we looked in your handbag right now?

About twenty pens, a packet of tissues, ibuprofen, a notebook, my sunglasses and some crumpled receipts.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

Reading and watching boxset tv series. I think the quality of modern drama today is on a par with the best novels out there.

A few of your favorites…

Animal Sea Otter

Season Autumn

Movie Last of the Mohicans

Celebrity Serena Williams

Scent Cherry blossom

Color Purple in all its shades

Holiday Anywhere as long as I’m on a cruise ship

Red or white wine? Champagne

Coffee or tea? Tea. I can’t stand coffee.

Summer or Winter? Winter

Sleep in or get up early? If I want to get any work done, the get up early.

About the Author – Sarah Bennett

Author Links: Twitter | Facebook 

Author Bio

Sarah Bennett has been reading for as long as she can remember. Raised in a family of bookworms, her love affair with books of all genres has culminated in the ultimate Happy Ever After – getting to write her own stories to share with others.

Born and raised in a military family, she is happily married to her own Officer (who is sometimes even A Gentleman). Home is wherever he lays his hat, and life has taught them both that the best family is the one you create from friends as well as relatives.

When not reading or writing, Sarah is a devotee of afternoon naps and sailing the high seas, but only on vessels large enough to accommodate a casino and a choice of restaurants.

Sarah is the author of the Butterfly Cove trilogy, published by HQ Digital UK. You can also look forward to a new series coming in 2018, set in the beautiful seaside town of Lavender Bay.

 

Enter the Giveaway

1 lucky individual will win….

Prize: £10 Amazon gift-card, butterfly necklace and butterfly journal

Click the link HERE to enter, UK Only

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Social Media Short-Link: http://wp.me/p4F2Uk-mFj

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Review, Interview & Giveaway : Christmas at Butterfly Cove

  1. I’m so excited to read this! I received a copy from NetGalley–I’ve been saving it for November/December, but I may cave and read it this week instead. Thanks for your review and interesting interview questions. 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s