Book Review | My Big Fat Christmas Wedding

Happy Publication Day to Samantha Tonge on her new novel My Big Fat Christmas Wedding!  (It was originally set to be released on November 10th, but they pushed up the release date.) This was the first Christmas novel I read this year and it was so much fun. Can you believe the Holidays are almost here?! Scroll on through to read my review! ❤

My Big Fat Christmas Wedding by Samantha Tonge

Samantha TongePublished: October 15th, 2015

Book Description: Things don’t always run smoothly in the game of love…

As her Christmas wedding approaches, a trip back to snowy England for her ex’s engagement party makes her wonder if those are wedding bells she’s hearing in her mind, or warning bells. She longs for the excitement of her old London life – the glamour, the regular pedicures. Can she really give that all up to be…a fishwife?
There’s nothing for it but to throw herself into bringing a little Christmas magic to the struggling village in the form of a Christmas fair. Somewhere in amidst the sparkly bauble cakes and stollen scones, she’s sure she’ll come to the right decision about where she belongs…hopefully in time for the wedding…

My Big Fat Christmas Wedding is the standalone sequel to Game of Thrones, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Debbie Johnson. Don’t miss the Christmas Wedding of the year!

Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | Goodreads

My Review

My Big Fat Christmas Wedding follows the story of Samantha’s previous novel, Game of Scones. Although it can be read alone, I would highly suggest you read Game of Scones first, as it’s a continuation of a wonderful love story and it was a great read. Samantha provides us with another bundle of chaos, drama and above all things, family and love.

Can one completely ditch their life in London for a simple life married to a fisherman on a small Greek island without looking back? Especially since they’ve been hit hard by the recent Greek economic crisis and the Syrian refugee situation?

Pippa is finally learning that her home is in Taxos with Niko. She wants a life that is about more than money and the next big project. It’s about family and love and enjoying life together. The major themes in the novel were the importance of love, family and community spirit.

I thoroughly enjoyed Samantha’s writing; great imagery, subtle humor, and it had me turning the pages wanting to know what was going to happen next! My Big Fat Christmas Wedding was a suspenseful and sweet story. I’m looking forward to seeing what Samantha cooks up next!

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

About the Author – Samantha Tonge

Author Links: Amazon | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website | Google +

Samantha Tonge AuthorAuthor Bio: Samantha lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and two cats who think they are dogs. Along with writing, her days are spent cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. A love of fiction developed as a child, when she was known for reading Enid Blyton books in the bath. A desire to write bubbled away in the background whilst she pursued other careers, including a fun stint working at Disneyland Paris. Formally trained as a linguist, Samantha now likes nothing more than holing herself up in the spare room, in front of the keyboard. Writing romantic comedy novels and short stories for women’s magazines is her passion.

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review | My Big Fat Christmas Wedding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s